Existing Sewerage System

About 10% of the population is served by sewers and the coverage is only limited to the areas mentioned in Table below The sewerage system of DSM is a collection of small independent drainage areas rather than a fully integrated network, the system is based on a separate systems with a combination of gravity and pumped flows, comprising approximately of 170 km of 100 to 1000 mm diameter pipes covering a total area of almost 1700 ha with adequate access manholes, these sewers discharge their effluent into oxidation ponds, streams and directly into the sea.

Sewage Pumping Stations
The existing sewerage systems served by 15 pump stations, 9 systems discharging into waste stabilization ponds and the remaining which serving the City Center, Kariakoo, Upanga and Muhimbili, discharges directly into the Indian Ocean through a sea outfall..